Welcome to the Cumbria Biodiversity Data Centre


These documents give key background information on the broad character of Cumbria in relation to its main landscape types, the current action for biodiversity within the Cumbria Biodiversity Action Plan, the key natural systems and processes, including river basin and coastal processes, and climate change. 


Guidance Notes produced for the Community Planning Process, including suggested actions to enhance biodiversity in each area. Please note that the information and guidance provided in these documents is still very relevant, but the contacts details may well be out of date. You may wish to cross-refer to the rest of CBEB and the CBEB Spreadsheet.

Current Version - September 2004 Download Barrow-in-Furness [PDF]

Current Version - April 2005 Download Carlisle and Eden [PDF]

Current Version - July 2004 Download South Lakeland [PDF]

Current Version - September 2004 Download West Cumbria [PDF]


Natural Areas, defined by English Nature (now incorporated into Natural England), are divisions of England based on the distribution of wildlife and natural features, and the land-use patterns and human history of each area. The Natural Area Profiles are detailed documents that describe the distinctive biodiversity features for each Natural Area and are available from Natural England. The Cumbrian Natural Areas are the Border Uplands; Solway Basin; Eden Valley; North Pennies; Cumbrian Fells and Dales; West Cumbria Coastal Plain; Morecambe Bay; Cumbrian Coast; and Solway Firth.

Current Version: 1997 View Profiles [External Link]


National Character Areas (NCAs), defined by the Countryside Commission (now incorporated into Natural England), are very similar divisions of England but with a stronger emphasis on landscape character. National Character Areas match or nest within Natural Area boundaries; they were previously known as Joint Character Areas. There are 12 National Character Areas identified in Cumbria: Border Moors and Forests; Cumbria High Fells; Eden Valley; Howgill Fells; Morecambe Bay Limestones; North Pennines; Orton Fells; Solway Basin; South Cumbria Low Fells; Tyne Gap and Hadrian's Wall; West Cumbria Coastal Plain; Yorkshire Dales.

Current Version: Dates vary, currently being revised. View Profiles [External Link]


Report of a detailed Phase 1 (field by field) Habitat Survey of Cumbria carried out between 1983 and 1987 with summary descriptions of habitats and estimates of habitat areas by County and District.

Current Version: 1990   Download Report [PDF]

Associated maps of all habitats at 1:10000 scale are available from CBDC and as part of the GIS element of CBEB (note these are available as scanned raster layers only).